Age: 45

Height: 5 feet 7

Weight: 138.5 lbs.
Bust: 33.5 inches
Waist (gut) below belly button: 34
Hips: 38
Upper thighs: 24
Upper arms: 10.5

One of my goals for this year is to get in shape and to feel good about my body.

Most of my life I was thin, skinny, in fact. It has been since I turned 30 that I began to put on weight. It crept up on me, so that it was barely visible at first. A little pudge in the gut, not much else seemed to have changed.

Over the following 15 years I noticed it change more drastically, such as increased flab on my upper arms, unable to fit into pants and skirts I’ve had for years, my belly hanging over my waist-bands, and generally feeling heavier, not the same in my skin.

What I look like today:

Image

I learned about Impossible Abs last year through a blog I’ve been following. Joel Runyon, the blog author, inspires me to think outside of my comfort zone and one of these has been exercise. I’m pretty good with trying to change my diet, but have so far lacked the motivation to keep it going, and I have never come across a fitness program that tells you how to both eat right and exercise. It’s usually one or the other.

The rules of the Impossible Abs program: Eat a Paleo-inspired diet (you will learn more about this later) within an 8 hour window, exercise daily for 30 minutes (the exercises are provided by Joel as well as how to do them and modifications to them), for 8 weeks straight.

I honestly have always hated to exercise. Probably because it seems like so much work for very little benefit. But after I read the story of Joel’s own experience with the program, I was convinced this is something anyone can do, including me. All you have to do is follow the rules and do them each and every day for 8 weeks.

Eight weeks. That’s nothing, right? I’ve lived 45 years, surely I could take 2 months to do something I have never done before and see if it impacts my life. I’d have nothing to lose except perhaps a few pounds which is what I want. And perhaps a few hundred bucks. I decided it was worth it and on January 1, 2013, I signed up.

This is the story of what happened next.

