Today I cleared out all non-program foods from my cabinets and refrigerator. That meant throwing away cheese and bread from the fridge and getting rid of all the dry items that were in my cabinets including things like beans, crackers, pasta, rice, quinoa, cookies, oats, flour, and sugar.

Below is what I got rid of. I have not yet thrown this stuff away, I just couldn’t make myself throw away food. I’m not sure yet what I will do with it. If possible, I may bring it into work and see if anyone can use it. But the stuff that’s already been opened I’ll either have to use eventually or throw away. It’s just a shame to me to throw away food. As terrible as it might be for my health. Weird, I think, when I know how unhealthy it really is for you.

Items not on the list

Items not on the list

More items not on the list

More items not on the list

I bought groceries today: $172

I went to work cooking several items today that I could spread out over meals for the rest of the week. Below are self-invented recipes from ingrediens that I had on hand.

Asian meat balls

Beef meatballs, baked in the oven

Beef meatballs, baked in the oven

ingredients:

1 lb or so ground beef (you can also use ground chicken or pork, in fact, they might be better that way)
1 egg
1 tablespoon or so Asian style salad dressing (optional; instead of dressing, you can throw in a mixture of sesame oil, ginger, soy sauce)
1 tablespoon teriyaki
Salt
Ground ginger (fresh would be better)
Dash of cumin
Dash of paprika
Dash of Asian mixed spices

  1. Mix everything together in a bowl
  2. Let stand for at least 30 min to let meat soak up flavors
  3. Roll into small (1 tablespoon size) balls
  4. Bake on sheet pan at 400 degrees about 10 min

Mini omelets

I can eat about 4 of these for a whole meal or one or two for a quick snack.

Omelets baked in cupcake cups

Omelets baked in cupcake cups

ingredients:

6 eggs
2 + ½ slices ham diced
¼ red pepper diced
¼ yellow onion finely diced
½ zucchini diced
Herbs or spices to taste
Salt

  1. Scramble eggs with a bit of cold water
  2. Add in diced ham
  3. Sauté lightly the onion, pepper and zucchini
  4. In 12 cupcake cups (greased) divide the sautéed vegs
  5. Pour about 1 tablespoon of egg and ham mixture into each cup, divided evenly
  6. Bake in oven at 350 degrees for about 20 min

Guacamole

Guacamole

Guacamole

ingredients:

1 avocado
1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
Pinch dried cilantro
Pinch salt
½ teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon or so lime juice

Mix. Store in airtight container.

