Sundays are when I go grocery shopping for the week. Last week I hadn’t needed to go shopping for food because I had enough left over from the previous week. So this week I went early on Sunday to the store. Before I went, I wanted some ideas for meals, so I looked on my iPad and found one I could modify from Jamie Oliver. It’s a chicken curry with rice, but instead of the rice, I did it with cauliflower (see the recipe and photos below). It took a while to prep and make, but it came out really good.

I did real good at the store, only spending $81. I think I’m getting better at choosing stuff from mostly the meat and vegetables sections.

I started cooking almost as soon as I got back home. Besides the chicken curry, I made two other meals for the week too: a salad with baked salmon and asparagus and a meal I call Beef Fajita. It’s basically what I would put in a beef fajita (beef, onion and green pepper), but minus the cheese and sour cream. It can be served with guacamole, which I make myself (see food post from January 6).

Chicken Curry with Cauliflower

This recipe from Jamie Oliver will last me two or three days. Instead of rice pilaf, which his recipe calls for, I used cauliflower. I also modified the recipe a bit to fit my taste and based on what spices I have on hand.

20130128-200825.jpg

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts (enough for 2 people)
½ head of cauliflower
14 oz canned tomatoes
olive oil
small bunch of fresh cilantro (about 15 stalks)
2 teasp. ground cardamom (I used garam masala, which contains cardamom)
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teasp. ground coriander
½ teasp. ground turmeric
1 cinnamon stick
2 whole cloves
1 onion (medium size)
1 ½ tablespoons almond meal
2/3 – 1 cup chicken broth, warmed up
4 garlic cloves
1 inch ginger root
1/3 cup plain yogurt
lemon juice
hot sauce or hot chili flakes
sliced toasted almonds (about 3 tablespoons)
salt

  1. Put 1 teaspoon garam masala, 1 crushed or ¼ teaspoon powdered clove and 1 teaspoon cumin in a bowl. Set aside.
  2. Remove the leaves from the stalks of the cilantro and put them in a small bowl with cold water. Keep the stems and cut them up very fine.
  3. Put the chopped cilantro stems, the finely cut or pressed garlic and the grated ginger root in a small bowl. Set aside.
  4. Cut the chicken up into small, bite-size pieces. Set aside.
  5. Dice the onion very fine. Set aside.
  6. Dice the canned tomatoes and set aside.
  7. Dice the cauliflower up into bite-size or smaller pieces.
  8. In a frying pan, add oil and add the whole clove, 1 teaspoon cardamom or garam masala, 1 teaspoon cumin, break the cinnamon stick in half, add it and fry the spices until aromatic. Add in the cauliflower until coated with the spice/oil mixture and then add the warmed up chicken broth. Let it come to a boil then lower to simmer, put lid on and cook until cauliflower is soft (about 15 minutes).
  9. Over high heat, in a second frying pan, add oil and add the chicken to brown. Once brown, put the pieces on a plate and set aside.
  10. Lower the heat to medium. In the same frying pan, add the spices from step 1. Let them cook for about 30 seconds. Add the diced onion and let this cook for about 10 minutes until the onions are soft and slightly golden.
  11. Add the items from step 3 plus the diced tomatoes. Add tumeric and coriander. Let this cook for about another minute. Stir through the almond meal.
  12. Add the chicken and stir until the chicken and vegetables are covered in the spices. Add salt to taste and a little bit of water or chicken broth and let this cook for a few minutes until the chicken is cooked through.
  13. When ready to eat, add 1/3 cup plain yogurt and stir thoroughly. Plate the food and add the cilantro leaves and toasted sliced almonds on top. Sprinkle with lemon juice and/or hot sauce to taste.

Beef Fajita

Ingredients:

1 lb approx. beef sirloin (steak tips) cut into small bite-size pieces
1 green pepper, sliced thin
1 yellow onion (I used Vidalia) sliced thin
Chili powder
Steak seasoning (I use Penzy’s)
Cumin
Salt and pepper
Olive oil

  1. Sprinkle the beef with olive oil, salt, pepper and the spices to taste (I use about half a teaspoon to a teaspoon of each of the spices).
  2. Brown the pieces of beef in a frying pan on high heat with olive oil.
  3. Let the beef rest on a plate. In the same pan, add the onion and pepper and cook until softened and slightly golden. Add more oil if needed.
  4. Lower the heat and add the beef back into the pan and cook for a minute or so more.
  5. Serve the mixture with guacamole. Add hot sauce or salsa if desired.
