Day 1 of week 5

So yesterday I spent a good part of the day prepping food for the week. I went shopping at 8:30 in the morning at Whole Foods, spent $88 on mostly vegetables (I wanted to make salads this week as I don’t feel I eat enough fresh veggies).

I also bought a whole chicken because I saw a recipe I wanted to make in a book I have on Spanish cooking. The meal is called Fricassee Chicken with Walnut Sauce.

It was a pretty elaborate meal to make, but it came out amazing! I had to debone the chicken, cut it up into the breasts, legs, thighs and wings. Then I oven roasted the carcass to make a chicken stock with later this week. I had to flour the pieces of chicken so I used almond flour instead of regular flour, seasoned them too. Then fried them up (browned the outsides) in a pan, set them aside. Added onions to the pan, softened them a bit. Then added white cooking wine. Then added the chicken back in.

I made a mixture with ground walnuts, garlic, and cilantro. To thin it, I added almond milk (rather than real milk). Made the mixture in the blender. Then added that to the pan. Covered this with a whole box of chicken stock (about 4 cups) and let it come up to a boil. Then simmered, put the lid on and cooked it for about 30 minutes until the chicken was cooked through.

At the end the sauce is supposed to be quite thickened but mine wasn’t. So I took out the chicken, mixed it more with the handheld mixer and added in a slurry I made from flour and water. Yes, I know, Paleo says to not eat flour, but this was perhaps 2 tablespoons of flour and mixed into about 4 cups of sauce, so I figured even if I have to eat something that has flour in it, the ratio of the flour is extremely small. That helped to thicken it quite a bit. I have to say, this is an amazing meal.

Chicken Fracassee with Walnut Sauce, plus salad

Chicken Fricassee with Walnut Sauce, plus salad

Really not that difficult to make either. I cooked up some fennel in a skillet and added a fresh tomato on the side.

Today I did it with a salad on the side, but yesterday I hadn’t made my salads yet. I made those before I went to bed. The first one is a yellow squash salad, I added in Boston lettuce and toasted walnuts tossed with salt and walnut oil. The dressing is lemon juice, onion, olive oil and Champagne vinegar. Really quite an amazing salad. I had that for lunch today along with some of the fricassee.

Another meal I will be making later this week is a stir-fry with shrimp and snow peas.

I’m feeling very inspired by this idea of cooking with Dave (a friend from work) this coming weekend and I asked him what he thinks of making beef bourguignon. I’ve never made it myself, Paul has made it for me a bunch of times, though, and it’s pretty much one of my favorite French dishes, aside from crepes. I was wondering the other day how I could make crepes without milk and flour. Maybe almond flour and almond milk? Worth a try, I think. Almond flour is not as fine as regular flour, so it might come out a bit lumpy, but I definitely want to give it a try.

