Day 2 of week 5

I have been so inspired and happy about healthy cooking that I took a look at what new books the library might have on healthy cooking. They had several that I want to check out at some point:

IMG_1216 IMG_1217 IMG_1218

I was thinking about the crepe question and wondering if there’s a way to do Paleo baking. I know cavemen didn’t bake because they didn’t have flour or meal. There is also likely no gluten-free baking that doesn’t contain some kind of other ingredient (like sugar) that you can justify as Paleo. But I think strictness to a diet can go overboard. I know people who eat vegan or whatever the diet may be, and they allow themselves to cheat. I was just thinking that at some point in the future, I’m going to be wanting to bake for myself or for friends and I want it to be as healthy as it can be, and want to steer away from too many of those ingredients that make you feel heavy and bloated.

Hence the reason for looking into healthy alternatives. And there are celiac-disease sufferers who manage to eat some breads and stuff like that. I’m not celiac and I am not doing this at all because I have a disease. I just want to eat healthy, whole foods. Baking gets us into territory that the cave men didn’t know anything about. So just bringing it up as an option is a bit ridiculous. But still. Chocolate cake. Pancakes. Cookies. Those things do call to us every once in a while, and if we’re going to eat them because we absolutely can’t resist, then we must eat the most healthy version of them, in my opinion.

