Day 1 of week 6

This morning I thought about the importance of stretching before working out, especially if you are going to be doing a workout that puts stress on your hips and lower back. Almost all of the leg exercises in the “Impossible Abs” workout affect your hips: lunges and squats, for example. Running and jump roping will also do this. So it’s very important for those areas to be flexible and loose before working them.

I have found yoga to be a great stretching mechanism. I do yoga in a class once a week, but now that I’m doing Impossible Abs, I do yoga for about 10-15 minutes every morning to stretch out before working out.

By chance, I found out that Reebok offers short videos on yoga for stretching and I was surprised to find that the instructor does almost all of the same poses that I had already incorporated into my morning stretching routine. So here are three videos from that source to give an idea of the types of yoga poses (stretches, really) I have been doing and find very beneficial. I sincerely believe it is what has prevented my back from completely tightening up. I already have a weakness in that area of my body, so skipping stretches is not even an option for me, or I would be in pain all day.

Yoga for Crossfit
Yoga for Runners
Yoga for total flexibility

